On A Vision Quest

Many men go fishing all of their lives without knowing it is not fish they are after.

True purpose finds answers by asking the one who created us. We are like a device invented that only the inventor knows the real purpose. God gave us a glimpse, sneak peaks on what we must be, and yet we ended ourselves choosing the easy one, the one that pleasures us most. Sometimes the people around us control us, dictate on us what we should be according to their opinion on what’s best for us.

In a world of competitive minds, we set our goals high. We want to acquire all, to be rich and famous, to earn recognition. We always thought of great things rather than simple ones. We thought that happiness is measured through our achievements. In our generation, we have been taught to win, to conquer, and not to lose a battle. Millions of people ended themselves not content with the life they have chosen. They tried lots of things and yet they are still unsatisfied, trading their time and efforts for garbage.

When I graduated from my high school years, I was too eager to pursue my dream of becoming a teacher. But, I had lost my focus. I was blinded with my insecurities, with my flaws. Then I began searching myself, my real identity, my real me. I turned myself to God, and prayed for enlightenment, and asked, what He wants me to be?

I search for a place to patch things up. A place that doesn’t care of my flaws; somewhere I can renew myself slowly, without too much expectations. I believe that I can be a better person out from my bitter experiences. And I also believe that my brothers will help me in my quest for true purpose, true happiness, and true contentment. Together, we can boast to the world, Quest completed.

“Jesus, like any good fisherman, first catches the fish; then He cleans them”

“I am here for a purpose and that purpose is to grow into a mountain, not to shrink into a grain of sand”

Leave a Reply

