Faith and its Basis

When Fr. Jotham asked us, “Do you believe in God? We replied with a big “YES”. But when he asked again, “What is the basis of your faith?

We were all silent…I watched the faces of my batch mates-they were in deep thinking-some murmured, some wanted to raised his hand, and for some “I have no idea”, was written all over their faces.

I made a decision to follow Jesus when I was a very young child. Even then, I understood that I was sinful and couldn’t live a sin-free life in my own power. I knew that I needed a savior and was thankful for Jesus dying for me. As I was growing up, I always felt God’s presence in my life–comforting, guiding, convicting me of sin, but I mainly understood “following” as not doing bad things.

When I was in college, I came to realize that following was so much more. God is more concerned with the attitude of my heart, and so much of the Bible has to do with the things we ought to do or be and not just the things we are to avoid. Following Jesus became then, and has continued to this day, to be about walking and talking with Jesus daily about all aspects of my life.

My walk with Him is very personal. I see His faithfulness in my life every single day. I feel His presence very near. When I read the Bible, He illuminates it for me in a way that is impossible to explain to someone who hasn’t experienced it. I feel His presence when I pray, and He speaks to me–not in a voice–but in my heart. He’s so real to me that I have no desire or need to look any where else, and why would I want to do that when I know that doing so would grieve Him?

So yes, I believe and have faith, but that faith is based on years of wrestling with God, praying, trying out what the He says and finding it to be true, talking to God and having Him respond in very real ways–faith based on personal experience.

“Faith-is believing in things when common sense tells you not to”

Leave a Reply

