Seminarian; in Words & in Deeds

2

Friday night, the academic committee had a film showing, which was worth watching. As I sit comfortably in my chair, the liturgist in our BEC approached me and told me that I’m going to give a reflection for tomorrow’s mass.

Reflection on Lk 11:27-28

Sometimes, I asked myself if my brothers understand the sacred scriptures or just they are merely heretics. Now in case you don’t know, Heretics are people who go round saying things like this “We are excellent Catholics, but we don’t believe that Our Lady is the Mother of God” or “We are very good seminarians, but we disobeyed the monitum.

Well you can see for yourself how very silly these things are, can’t you? You just as well say, “I’m a very good sailor. But I’ve never seen the sea” or “I really love the Eucharist but I always sleep during the celebration.

One of our biggest problems in our Christian walk and growth and within the seminary as a whole is; “Failing to act like God’s Word is true.” If you ask most seminarians if they believe the Bible and what it says, most would answer: “Oh, yes.”

But when I inquire them about a certain passage in a bible, they would weren’t sure with their answers and sometimes they kept silent, sometimes if you’re going to ask what’s the readings for today they’re replied would be, ”I don’t know, I forgot”. And to think we are seminarians-disciples of Jesus.

Then do you believe that the Bible is the Word of God? “Oh Yes, I do, if God says it, I believe it and that settles it.”

And this shall be our priority too. I know what I don’t want to be; instead, I do want to be the kind of person who hears and keeps the word of God.

It is not enough that we hear we must also abide by these words of God by observing it. Based on my experience once we are devoted and true to God’s words it automatically transforms us to become a seminarian in words and in deeds.
Why not try a daily habit of humbly reading the words of God, why not try attending the daily celebration of the Holy Eucharist attentively. …

We know there are obvious differences between merely hearing and truly listening, and there are even clearer distinctions between just hearing and actually observing what we hear. If we hear God’s word, and really listen, then surely our observance will lead to action. If we fully attend to the word of the Lord and allow it to consume us, we cannot help but assume that we are on the right track. We must live in love and act in compassion; we must seek justice and offer mercy. How truly blessed we are, seminarians, when we let our actions speak God’s word.

You can’t know. You have to decide.

Leave a Reply

