I’m in LOVE with GOD

3Well I am a little young. This could be what I’m feeling now, and it could easily change in the future. I thought  that God was calling me to become a priest. I had never been on dates or had a girlfriend before then and thought that God was protecting me. It is amazing how God shows you your calling, when you least expect it.

I have decided to write a little post about why I am studying to be a priest.

To begin with, I never in a million years would have imagined or probably wanted to be a priest as a young kid and through middle school. I really didn’t have a clue why I was Catholic. I believed in God and I believed that Jesus was God, but beyond that, I really was clueless.

I was thinking about this. I am willing to do anything God calls me to, I am his servant, and I know I will find my purpose in time.

I’m glad I’m one of the young people  who can visualize ourselves in the future already. That’s very important and will guide us through college helping us focus on what we want for ourselves. In my case, I went to college and took up different courses in different schools until I transferred to a diocesan seminary . My family, at first didn’t able to grasp the reasons behind.

From that point, I have continued to fall in love with and be smitten by one Person, Jesus Christ. He is the reason I am studying to be a priest. I can say with Saint Peter, “Master, to whom shall we go? You have the words of eternal life. We have come to believe and are convinced that you are the Holy One of God.” (Jn 6)

Certainly it is not priests and religious alone that love and fall in love with our Lord, but rather He has captured my heart and put a desire in it to serve Him alone by serving His bride, the Church, with an undivided heart.

So even when I have a plan for myself God will guide me through the one He has for me. I hope my goals will come to life.

Pray for me that I may be a worthy servant of so great and loving  Master.

“Nothing is more practical than finding God, that is, than falling in love in a quite absolute, final way. What you are in love with, what seizes your imagination, will affect everything. It will decide what will get you out of bed in the morning, what you do with your evenings, how you spend your weekends, what you read, who you know, what breaks your heart, and what amazes you with joy and gratitude. Fall in love, stay in love, and it will decide everything.”

– Father Pedro Arrupe

Leave a Reply

