In Ignatian Way

In some ways, it is hard to express exactly why I want to pursue theological studies this time. I think it might be comparable to a question posed by a young lady to me a week ago as to why I want to become a priest.

Although there are several wonderful things I could say about my vocation, I was bound only to say to her, “I think this is what God wants me to do”. No sentimentality, no how-wonderful-to-stroll-beside-a-creek-and-meditate idea.

A vocation does not come out of nowhere. I am blessed to have been born into a loving family that appreciated its Catholic faith and let it influence every area of life. My parents set an example for my siblings and me of happily going to Mass on Sundays. It may not sound like much, but that basic example of Mass as a joy on Sunday, rather than an unappreciated obligation, went a long way.   In addition, I have several uncle-priests, and I would like to believe that priesthood, that divine blood runs in our veins 😀

I consider myself a diligent student. I am a voracious reader and a writer. I am engaging and sometimes provocative during class discussions.

Though I am confident to do better, if not best, in your graduate program, I’ve anticipate many elements of theological studies difficult.  I know there will be trying moments, trying personalities and trying schedules. But even with all those struggles in mind, I consider it an incredible gift to be formed and shaped in an Ignatian way.

I think this is the way of life to which God is calling me.

Leave a Reply

